Opened in 2009, the Arkansas Studies Institute is housed in three restored historical buildings from three centuries. Visitors can explore family history; browse the retail and exhibit galleries of Arkansas artwork, crafts, and gifts; enjoy a meal or cold drink; and view more than 100 photographic image panels depicting life in Arkansas from frontier days to modern times. The facilities also provide space for UA Little Rock classes and community lectures and events.
CALS has been actively involved in revitalizing the River Market District. Both the Main library and the Cox Center on the campus were rehabilitated, and development of the Arkansas Studies Institute continues that tradition by renovating two historic buildings on President Clinton Avenue:
Porbeck & Bowman Building (1882). This building was owned by William Probst and Max Hilb, two German immigrants who owned a wholesale grocery and liquor distributorship. The original building included a two-story upper floor that was home to the Concordia Association, a Jewish social club.
Geyer & Adams Building (1914). John E. Geyer and John Dudley Adams operated a wholesale grocery distributorship at this location. In 1914, they replaced an older building with this structure, designed by Charles Thompson.
In addition to the Porbeck & Bowman and Geyer & Adams buildings, the institute includes the new Manuscript and Rare Book Repository. This structure is connected to the Geyer & Adams building by a three-story glass atrium, and it houses a state-of-the-art manuscript and rare book storage facility with approximately 40,000 books and 10,000 linear feet of manuscripts.
Arkansas Studies Institute | 401 President Clinton Avenue | Little Rock, Arkansas 72201 | 501.320.5700
Housing the holdings of the UA Little Rock Center for Arkansas History and Culture & the Butler Center for Arkansas Studies